ESGO Council Elections

Elections to the ESGO Council 2017 – 2021


urlIn accordance with the Bylaws, the ESGO Council shall be composed of sixteen (16) duly elected Council members including the Executive Officers. The term of office for elected Council members is four (4) years, the term of office for the elected Officers is two (2) years. In order to ensure the continuity of the society, elections are held biennially while half of the Council changes every 2 years (Council members elected in 2015 will hold office until 2019; Council members elected in 2017 will hold office until 2021).

ESGO Officers are elected by the ESGO Council, while ESGO Council members are chosen by a general election amongst ESGO members. All ESGO regular members (i.e., European members) are eligible to be nominated, vote and hold elective office or committee positions.

For the period of 2017-2021, six (6) elected Council Member positions are open.


Call for applications

All ESGO regular members (i.e., European members) who hold active membership are given the opportunity to stand as candidates.



  1. The candidate must be an ESGO regular member of good standing and hold active membership in 2017
  2. Council members are expected to work for benefit of the Society, attend Council meetings and actively participate in activities and projects.
  3. The candidate must have good command of the English language.


Deadline for applications:  April 21, 2017. Call for applications has been closed.


Applications may be made by submitting all the below documents via electoral email:

  • A letter describing the candidate’s motivation to stand in the 2017 ESGO Elections
  • A short CV (maximum 250 words) and photo


Please submit your application at


Final slate of candidates:

All applications will be considered by the Nomination Committee, consisting of the President-Elect, the President and the immediate Past President. The Committee will prepare a final slate of candidates ensuring a balanced representation of the different geographic regions of Europe in the future Council.

Candidates will be announced on this ESGO website and voting will be completed electronically via voting platform. Society members with voting rights will be approached to cast their vote. The candidate who gets the simple majority of votes will be declared elected. In the case of a tie, the Nominating Committee will make the final decision. All votes are be confidential.


Electoral timetable:

  • Applications:                               February 20 – April 21, 2017
  • Final slate of candidates:              April 21 – June 16, 2017
  • Administration:                            June 16 – July 31, 2017
  • Final ballots:                                August 28 – October 1, 2017

Announcement of results:                November 4-7, 2017 (ESGO2017 International meeting, Vienna, Austria)


Upcoming events



April 7-8, 2017, Leuven, Belgium

Now on ESGO eAcademy!

Read More

Haas Haus with St. Stephen's Cathedral at Stephansplatz in Vienna, Austria


Nov 4-7, 2017, Vienna, Austria

Register early and save!

Read More