European Society of Gynaecological Oncology

Europe’s Leading Gynaecological Cancers Society

Founded in 1983, the European Society of Gynaecological Oncology (ESGO) is a growing not-for profit organisation and forum of more than 1800 professionals, from across Europe and the Mediterranean basin, dedicated to promoting the highest quality of care for women with gynaecological cancers.

Our Vision: Optimal prevention and care for all women in Europe with gynaecological cancers.

ESGO’s Mission

UntitledTo improve the health and well-being of European women with gynaecological (genital and breast) cancers through prevention, excellence in care, high quality research and education.

ESGO Activities

ESGO aims to achieve high standards of professional training and care for gynaecological oncology in Europe.

These goals are accomplished through a variety of activities.

ESGO holds a biennial European Gynaecological Oncology Congress, publishes the International Journal of Gynecological Cancer (IJGC), has set up formal guidelines of training in gynaecological oncology and runs European hospital accreditation.

Annually ESGO organises numerous educational workshops with special emphasis on European countries where facilities and education is lacking, and also provides traveling fellowships to enhance communication and mobility within different European institutions.

ESGO focuses special attention on education through E-Academy, an exclusive interactive educational online portal.

The knowledge portal features the latest ESGO congresses presentations given by internationally-renowned speakers on specialised issues of clinical importance in gynaecological oncology.

ESGO initiated several highly successful networks and special interest groups such as ENGAGe (European Network of Gynae Oncological Advocacy groups) or ENYGO (European Network of Young gynaecological Oncologists) - a vibrant section of ESGO that brings together, and represents the needs and aspirations of trainees and the younger generation of professionals in our field.
ESGO also facilitates and supports ENGOT (European Network of Gynae Oncological Trial Groups), and integrates different networks active in gynaecological cancer research like ENITEC, ENTRIGO, EUTROC and others.

Explore ESGO's website and discover the privileges of being an ESGO member.
ESGO members all have different histories, different customs and different languages, but they all have the same mission – to do the best they can to improve the survival and quality of life of European women with Gynaecological (genital and breast) cancers.

Join ESGO and become part of the European Voice of Gynecological Oncology.

 ESGO Council 2015-2017


David Cibula, Czech Republic

Past President

Vesna Kesic, Serbia


Murat Gultekin, Turkey


Denis Querleu, France

Council Members

Elisabeth Aval-Lundqvist, Sweden

Nicole Concin, Austria

Carien Creutzberg, the Netherlands

Annamaria Ferrero, Italy

Frederic Goffin, Belgium

Dimitrios Haidopoulos, Greece

Dina Kurdiani, Georgia

Jonathan Ledermann, UK

Philipp Morice, France

Jordi Ponce, Spain

Cristiana Sessa, Switzerland

Pauline Wimberger, Germany

Christian Marth, ENGOT Chair, Austria

Rene Laky, ENYGO Chair, Austria



View full details of ESGO council members.

ESGO Committees

Scientific Committee
Chair: Carien Creutzberg
Committee Members:
  • Denis Querleu
  • Cristiana Sessa
  • Vesna Kesic
  • Dimitrios Haidopoulos
  • Philippe Morice
  • Jonathan Ledermann
  • Jordi Ponce
  • Dina Kurdiani


Education Committee
Chair: Philippe Morice
Committee members:
  • Vesna Kesic
  • Murat Gultekin
  • Frederic Goffin
  • Elisabeth Aval Lundqvist
  • Pauline Wimberger
  • Annamaria Ferrero
  • Nicholas Reed
  • Christian Marth
Patient Advocacy Committee
Chair: Murat Gultekin
Committee members:
  • David Cibula
  • Cristian Sessa
  • Elisabeth Aval Lundqvist
  • Dina Kurdiani
  • Rene Laky
Fellowships & Accreditations Committee
Chair: Dimitrios Haidopoulos
Committee Members:

Nicole Concin
Jordi Ponce
Rene Verheijen
Rene Laky

Guidelines Committee
Chair: Denis Querleu
Committee Members:
  • David Cibula
  • Nicole Concin
  • Pauline Wimberger
  • Annamaria Ferrero
  • Jonathan Ledermann
  • Christian Marth

Upcoming events



Sept 8-10, 2016 Antalya, Turkey


Read More



April 1-2, 2016, Minsk, Belarus


Read More

A view of the very impressive looking Lund cathedral in Sweden.


June 17-18, 2016, Lund, Sweden


Read More

Haas Haus with St. Stephen's Cathedral at Stephansplatz in Vienna, Austria


Sept 28 - Oct 1, 2017, Vienna


Read More