ESGO Accreditations

Committed to the cause of excellence in care and education, ESGO aims to establish multidisciplinary standards for care, and acts as the European authority in the field of gynaecological oncology.


Training in Gynaecological Oncology

In collaboration with EBCOG (European Board and College of Obstetrics & Gynaecology) and UEMS (European Union of Medical Specialists), ESGO has set up multidisciplinary standards of care in gynaecological oncology and formal European standards of training in the subspecialty.
ESGO standards have been adopted in numerous European countries as a model for national subspecialty programmes of training and care, and are used as reference in countries where the subspecialty training does not formally exist (yet).


Hospital Accreditations

Based on European standards of training and care, ESGO provides supervision for accredited training, and has been running hospital recognition for excellence in training and care while accrediting centres across Europe.

The centres ESGO-EBCOG accredited as European Training Centres in Gynaecological Oncology are authorised to provide certified training.

In general, the subspecialty accreditation follows the EBCOG recognition of basic training in gynaecology & obstetrics, while special rules apply in case the gynaecological oncological centre has no connection with general department of obstetrics & gynecology. In case of countries where a national training and auditing system fully matches the ESGO-EBCOG criteria, the ESGO recognises the local subspecialty accreditation as ESGO-EBCOG equivalent and no separate ESGO-EBCOG accreditation process is necessary.

Accreditation is valid for 5 years, followed by re-accreditation.

List of accredited centres is available here.

Documents related to ESGO-EBCOG hospital audit and accreditations valid since January 1, 2013 can be downloaded here:


Individual Accreditations

European Centres in Gynaecological Oncology accredited by ESGO-EBCOG are authorised to provide accredited training to fellow trainees.
Fellows trained in the accredited centres are eligible to receive an official ESGO diploma of European Gynaecological Oncologists.

Trainees interested in accredited European subspecialty training are asked to directly contact ESGO-EBCOG certified training centres to apply for local fellowship position.
After fulfilling the training programme as of the ESGO-EBCOG Log Book, they may apply for the ESGO-EBCOG diploma.

Since 2011, as per agreement with EBCOG, ESGO recognises the national RCOG (UK) and NVOG (NL) accreditation in gynaecological oncology as a full equivalent of the ESGO European accreditation.

Therefore, ESGO does not run hospital accreditations in these countries and centres recognised by these national societies are automatically be listed among the ESGO recognised centres.

For further information, please contact the ESGO Administrative Office.

Upcoming events



Sept 8-10, 2016 Antalya, Turkey


Register Now!

Untitled design (8)


Jan 27-28, 2017, Madrid, Spain


Read More

A view of the very impressive looking Lund cathedral in Sweden.


June 17-18, 2016, Lund, Sweden


Read More

Haas Haus with St. Stephen's Cathedral at Stephansplatz in Vienna, Austria


Nov 4-7, 2017, Vienna, Austria


Read More